Conversations With…: Growing Up

It was nap time. Or, as well call it now, Rest Time, as there is often no nap involved.

“Okay, sweetie, time to go up!”

“I can go up by myself this time, daddy,” my 3 1/2 year old daughter told me.

“Okay,” I said, following her up the stairs, glad to not have to carry her.

“No, daddy, I don’t need you,” she said, stopping me on the stairs, “You go down and come up and help me with my stool, then go right back down.”

I blinked. “You’re going to put yourself to bed?” I asked.

“Uh-huh.”

I went downstairs to Ms. Kaz…

“Did she just say what I thought she said?” asked Ms. Kaz. I nodded.

When beckoned, I went up stairs to help her with her stool for washing her hands. After she was done, I told her I’d be in the playroom (which is also our computer room) working if she needed anything. A minute later, she was at the door, “Hey, daddy?”

Ah hah. I knew she needed me. “Yes, sweetie?”

“I love ya!”

“I love you, too, sweetie.”

“‘night ‘night!” She walks into her room and shuts the door.

Three and a half. *sigh*. I am not ready for her to be that grown up. I bet she’ll cave at bedtime tonight.

Leave a Reply

