It’s My Party…

Actually, it is my daughter’s birthday party. And no one has to tell her she can cry is she wants to – she’s always cried whenever she’s wanted to. But I am afraid it may happen at this party.

I will spare you the details of our foolishness in deciding to have the party at our house this year. We’re already learning our lesson.

No, I actually have a question regarding something else…

My daughter’s bestest friend in the whole wide world ever, (we’ll call him) Timmy, will be unable to make it to her party. There was a death in the family, and they need to go out of state. We found out for sure yesterday. Of course, when I say, “we”, I mean me and Ms. Kaz. Not my daughter.

My daughter and Timmy have known each other for almost all their lives. Granted, that’s only a couple years, but they’ve been in the same daycare since they were pretty much babies. That means they’ve seen each other for four days a week for 2 straight years. They get along great. And they love each other. I wouldn’t be surprised if they got married someday (although, according to my daughter, she’s already married him).

To get to our previous daycare provider, Ms. Kaz used to have to drive by Timmy’s house. Timmy’s dad said he would see and recognize our car and yell, “There’s her car! There’s her car!” and want to get to daycare right away.

So, last night, my daughter told me excitedly, “Timmy’s coming to my party!” because, well, they were coming, and we’ve been telling her that. All I could say was, “uhh…”

We’ve thought of three plans of attack:

(1) Tell her now, and give her a chance to get used to the idea that Timmy won’t be there,
(2) Tell her right before the party (although, this  runs the risk of a lot of crying right at the start of the party),
(3) Don’t say anything and hope she is too distracted to notice.

So… what would you do?

3 Responses to It’s My Party…

  1. Darren says:

    I wouldn’t tell her right before the party. You’re right that it could just cause a breakdown. I think I’d try telling her early.

  2. Dan says:

    You could tell her that timmy couldn’t come because he had to go out to the shops and buy her a present. And then have a special party for just her and him at a later date.

    Or you could just kidnap him so he doesn’t go out of state.

    either one is good.

    [Kaz: Well, he’s already out of state, and I don’t want to have to take care of yet another 3-year-old… the first idea isn’t bad, since they may stop by the day after the party to give her a present and hang out… maybe stress the “you’ll have him all to yourself” angle…?]

  3. I’m from the ‘Don’t Tell’ camp… I think it’ll be a big day that will be overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

