Squirrels Just Wanna Have Fun

Last night, we had an impromptu block party.

Around 8pm, all the electricity in our house went out. I checked the fuse box circuit breakers, and they were all fine.

I looked outside, and all our neighbors’ lights appeared to be out. Then I saw a bunch of the neighbors and their kids gathered across the street. So, my daughter and I headed out to find out what was going on.

Everyone was looking up at the transformer. Right below the transformer was a squirrel. A dead squirrel.

Apparently, this squirrel decided to chew on some yummy wires. I actually believe he was finishing the job. You see, there was another dead squirrel in exactly the same spot just a few days earlier. Apparently, he didn’t manage to chew all the way through.

We went back inside to get my daughter to bed while there was still some light out, so we didn’t have to get her riled up because we were doing something wild and crazy, like using candles or a flashlight to move about.

As I got her read for bed, I must have answered a million questions (many of them several times) about squirrels and death and our neighbor and electricity and, oh, the list goes on.

“Why the lights go out?”
“Why you think the squirrel made the lights go out?”
“Mr. Tom took the squirrel?”
“What’s buried mean?”
“Why he buried it?”
“Squirrels aren’t supposed to go on wires. Only birdies.”
“People can’t touch wires.”
“What’s electricity?”
“What’s transformer?”
“Why he chewed the wire?”
“He got sick?”
“He died?”
“Once when you were a boy, your father died.”
“Why?”

I can’t even remember all the questions… but it was mostly those, over and over and over and over and over. I always promised myself that, as a dad, I would answer all my child’s questions. I was almost looking forward to it. And, well, I know this is how they learn — repetition — but, whew, I was glad to put her to bed.

Then I went out and had a margarita with the neighbors and watched the power company guys fix the transformer.

[UPDATE: I totally forgot to include the story she made up until LA Daddy reminded me…]

“The squirrel ran UP the tree and JUMPED on the lines and chewed on the lines and fell ALL the way down and got sick!”

4 Responses to Squirrels Just Wanna Have Fun

  1. L.A. Daddy says:

    The questions haven’t started for us yet, but I think they’re coming soon. Right now, she’s too busy making up songs and telling stories, but she’ll toss out questions here and there.

    [Kaz: Aww, man, you just reminded me that I totally forgot about the story she made up about this! Gotta go edit!]

  2. Darren says:

    The questions haven’t ended for us yet. This week we covered how, why and where people make fireworks.

  3. whit says:

    I knew that Transformers movie was real!

    or

    Stupid nut-flavored powerlines.

    Take your pick.

  4. tim relf says:

    Enjoyed reading your squirrel story.
    Dead squirrels are obviously a fertile source of material for bloggers – I’ve written about nothing else for two days!
    If it’s any consolation, we have similar problems over here!
    Tim

Leave a Reply

