Home Depot

I can’t blame Disney, so I gotta blame Home Depot on this one…

Me: You’re going to have a purple room, right sweetie?
Daughter: Purple with.. with.. Tinkerbell!

You see, when we went to Home Depot to look at paint chips to pick a color for her new Big Girl Room, the first thing she noticed was the Disney paints display. And, of course, they have little brochures (for lack of better term) with sample rooms which are waaaaay too Disneyfied.

And my daughter saw the Tinkerbell themed one. It was purple. And she wanted her room to look exactly like that.

I had thought she had forgotten the whole Tinkerbell thing and just wanted a purple room.

Now, after the above exchange, I realized she’s had it in her head the whole time.

I don’t know how she’ll react to a purple room which isn’t filled with Tinkerbell stuff.

UPDATE: Okay, I looked, and the sample Tinkerbell room is not purple at all. I have no idea where my daughter is getting this association from. But then again, she’s three, so who knows how her mind works!

6 Responses to Home Depot

  1. And what is up with the new customer service ethic at HD? Every time we’ve been there in the last two weeks, we’ve almost been run down by employees wondering if there’s anything they can do to help us. One guy even called down from the top of a cherry picker; I keep waiting for them to break into some sort of “How can we help you?” song. For any HD employees reading this, the answers are: clean the Cheerios out of the back seat of my car, restore order to my household, and change this diaper.

  2. whit says:

    I don’t think I’ve had anyone ever offer to help me at HD. I hope they’ve changed.

    What’s funny about Disney-themed rooms is that in their catalogs and ads, the rooms still have a Pottery Barn feeling of style about them. Go in the Disneystore and they’re selling a bunch of crap that’ll make your kid’s room look like the toy aisle in Wal-Mart.

    We pick and choose with our Disney decorations, which isn’t always popular with the kids. Good luck.

  3. Darren says:

    We did a Tinkerbell bathroom for Clare. I’ll email you some pictures.

    [Kaz: Definitely do… I’ve got an idea of how I want to do her room. If it turns out like I hope, I’ll post the results here. I think I’ll try to subtly work in a Tinkerbell or two for her…]

  4. Ms.T says:

    I am constantly amazed by the ubiquity of Disney.

    When we were working on our son’s nursery, we also took a look at HD. After flipping through reams of Disney-inspired wall art/borders/murals, we agreed we wanted to find something “neutral” because we felt a bit icky about “branding” our kid before he was even out of the womb.

    In the end, we decorated one wall of the nursery with an “undersea” mural – like one of those old 1960’s photo-mural-wallpaper jobs. Lots of fish, dolphins, sea turtles to gaze at and nary a up-coiffed princess or blinky-eyed animated car in sight.

    A while later, some friends came over with their two-year-old. As he entered the room, he made a beeline for a little orange clownfish pictured in a bottom corner of the mural.

    “Nemo! Nemo! Nemo!” he squealed, much to his parents surprise. As far as they know, he’s never seen the movie. He doesn’t own any Disney/Nemo-stamped clothing, backpacks, etc. And yet he was completely drawn to the clownfish – giddy with an inexplicable (and therefore unsettling) familiarity.

    [Kaz: Something similar happened to us with our daughter. I can’t remember which character it was, but she recognized it without ever having (to our knowledge) seen the movie.]

  5. hello i really enjoy your blog. this is world class info.

  6. Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and detailed information you present.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

