Conversations with…: My, how she’s grown

The other day, Ms. Kaz was looking at some video footage we took of my daughter’s First Birthday. “It doesn’t seem that long ago,” my wife said. It was a year and a half (actually, 19 months) ago.

In some ways, it doesn’t seem that long ago. But sometimes I look at old pictures of her, and I cannot remember her ever looking that way. She is growing up so fast.

I just didn’t realize how fast until the other day in the car. Ms. Kaz was driving, and I was sitting in the back with my daughter. I can’t remember exactly how we got to talking about it, but I began to tell her about all the boo-boos I got, “when I was a little kid.”

When my daughter got her Big Girl Bed a couple weeks back,  she decided to christen it the first morning with her face, and so she had a scab near her eye for a week or so. I was telling her about how I got a boo-boo near my eye … “when I was a little kid.” And how I got one near my other eye. And on my forehead. And on my chin. “When I was a little kid.”

After a few minutes, my daughter said to me, “I got a boo-boo once, too, when I was a little kid!”

“Oh, yeah?” I chuckled, “I’m surprised you remember – that was so long ago!”

Thank goodness my daughter hasn’t grasped the concept of sarcasm yet.

One Response to Conversations with…: My, how she’s grown

  1. Terry says:

    I’m glad that my 3yo still hasn’t grasped the concept of lying yet… he has grasped the concept of making jokes though. And the 21mo old is such a huge imitator… fun

    [Kaz: Yeah, my daughter only seems to lie in response to one question: are you going poop?]

Leave a Reply

