Holy Crap, Another Year

Today’s my birthday.

Let’s just say I still have a couple more years ’til the big 4-0.

They say you are only as old as you feel. Oh, crap.

It is probably just coincidence, but since having a kid, I get aches in muscles I never knew existed. I am ready for bed by 9:30pm. I never used to drink coffee. And I remember I only had 3 or 4 grey hairs. Some days she wears me down mentally, as well as physically.

I some ways, I feel much older.

But don’t get me wrong — I wouldn’t trade my daughter for the childless life. I mean, I think that’s part of the reason we had a child when we were older. We wanted to make sure we did (at least some of) the things we wanted to do while we were young and free.

Plus, I tend to overlook the ways my daughter keeps me feeling young… She allows me to play up my silly side to its fullest potential. And raising her makes me realize that I am not old and wise. In fact, some days I feel like I know nothing at all.

I am not at the point yet where I dread each birthday. That being said, I am not at the age where I look forward to each birthday, either!

Do I think life would have been easier if we had kids when we were younger? In some ways, yes. But, I don’t regret waiting. I think we made the right decision. However, I am getting (and feeling) older. And now we are dicussing another one (I better hit the gym!).

As long as she/they are out of the house by the time I retire…

If anyone wants a cupcake, I have some at my desk. Now, where’s my birthday loot??

6 Responses to Holy Crap, Another Year

  1. Hygiene Dad says:

    Happy Birthday. 30-something isn’t that bad (said the man who just turned 40). But yeah, everything aches more, you can’t eat like you used to and 9:30 is the most glorious time of the night.

    Still, three year olds have a tendency to make all that go away. πŸ™‚

  2. Chris says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  3. Mitch McDad says:

    Happy Birthday. 1st time here. Just blogroll hopping. All I have to say is that the aches and pains just get worse. i, like Hygeine Dad hit 4-0 recently. ugg.

    [Kaz: Thanks for stopping by! I hope you saw enough to come back again! And I gotta say, people — posts like this are a cry for help. You’re supposed to be reassuring me, not making me dread it more! πŸ˜‰ ]

  4. L.A. Daddy says:

    Bring on the cupcake! And happy b-day!

    [Kaz: Sorry, they are all gone. That’s what you get for living on the west coast!]

  5. Bob says:

    Yup, aches and pains in areas I wasn’t previous aware; blessed, blessed sleep by 9:30 (or even 9!); coffee instead of green/white tea; and gray hairs (and a strange increase in both nostril and ear hair) are all things I’ve experienced, too. But toddler girls will sure help you forget all of that!

    Anyway, happy belated b-day. If your email is any indication as to your birth year, you’re only a month my senior. 38-year-old vegetarian fathers of toddler girls rule! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

