The Christmas Haul, Part IV: Leap Pad

LeapPad

As I mentioned previously, we had bought a portable DVD player, mostly for the plane ride, but also as a better “emergency” tool for the long car trips than using the Mac PowerBook.

For Christmas, my daughter got a gift which helped us avoid having to use the DVD player – the LittleTouch LeapPad, by LeapFrog.

There may be other products like this, but I am not familiar with them. I have to say, if you’ve ever had to drive in the car with a 2 1/2 year old for 6-7 hours, having to provide basically all their entertainment, this thing is a god-send.

Oh, I love my daughter, and I love playing with her. However, a car limits your choice for playing with them (unless you really enjoy doing Wizard of Oz voices for 5 straight hours), and their choices for entertaining themselves.

Find out more after the jump…
The LeapPad is a learning system, and the levels can be adjusted as your child grows. I’m not sure exactly what my daughter is learning from this yet (other than pressing the “green go button” every time she turns the page), but she enjoys pressing various places on the pages and hearing the result. I am sure she’ll move on to learning something from this thing eventually.

The system comes with a “default” book, but you can add books (and the accompanying cartridge) for your child to learn different things (I’ve got my eye on the Dr. Seuss add-ons they have available).

So far, I’m liking it just for the value it has teaching my daughter to play by herself (not just for my own sanity, but I think it is good for kids to learn to play by themselves).

It certainly is better than having her stare at the Wizard of Oz on the DVD player for 6+ hours…

Buy your own at Amazon.com for just $34.29.

Leave a Reply

