They can still melt your heart…

I feel like I’ve been posting mostly about struggles with my daughter lately. I don’t want to give the wrong impression. There are still moments that melt my heart.

For instance, the other night when my daughter was struggling before bedtime because she did not have a nap, she woke up a few times in the first hour or so after falling asleep.

One of the times, I went in and she asked, “sing Beatles song, daddy?” in her tiny, sleepy voice.

Normally, we do not like to indulge in something which may or may not be a deliberate tactic to delay sleep. This time, though, I knew she was sincere in her need for something to help comfort her again. So, I sang, “I Will” to her as I gently rubbed her back. When finished, I gave our usual, “shhh… time for nite-nite” and started to leave the room.

As I reached the door, I heard her little voice saying, “thank you for singing to me, da-da.”

2 Responses to They can still melt your heart…

  1. Terry says:

    yeah… that’s pretty darn sweet…

  2. thordora says:

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

    I’ve always sung “Thank You” by Led Zepplin as a lullaby….it’s kinda cool when they ask for it isn’t it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

