Green Parenting Resources

In my quest to help parents create a “green” environment for their kids, I stumbled across this article from the North Jersey Media Group. The article has a good summary of places where toxins may exist in the home that parents may not be aware of, such a pressed-wood furniture, carpeting, and humidifiers/dehumidifiers. It also offers up a few cleaning product alternatives.

A lot of the information came from, as mentioned in the article, the website of The Deirdre Imus (yes, she’s married to Don Imus) Environmental Center for Pediatric Oncology. I haven’t had a chance to fully explore this website, but it appears to have a lot of good info on your environment and how it affects you and your children. And, it has a ton of links.

Another site I stumbled upon (okay, they emailed me) is babyGROE (Green, Recycled, Organic and Ethical), a UK-based, non-profit group, which casts a much wider net, helping parents make decisions on products, birthing methods, breast v. bottle, cloth v. disposable (don’t forget gDiapers!) and creating a healthy environment. Parts of this site you need to register for, but I really like the group, because they take the same philosphy as me – parents should pick and choose what works for them.

Hey, every little bit helps!

One Response to Green Parenting Resources

  1. L.A. Daddy says:

    Gracias, Kaz! I’ll check them out. I’m looking to re-insulate our house and I’m trying to avoid the fiberglass kind with all the chemicals that can seep into the house below.

    And I’ll pass the info around on my work blog as well.

    [Kaz: Cool! Let us know what you find out!]

Leave a Reply

