Lentils

Sometimes, when one of us is cooking dinner, we happen to be the one my daughter wants to play with. Rather than constantly telling her we are busy, maybe later, the other day, we decided we would try to let her participate in cooking the meal. We happened to be making a lentil soup, so Ms. Kaz decided to let our daughter scoop the lentils into a bowl.

Let me tell you, my daughter thought this was the greatest thing and talked about it the rest of the night, and at daycare, and for the next day or so.

We thought, now that she can do a lot more than she used to, it might be nice, and might be fun to get her involved. Besides, she would definitely want to eat the lentils since she helped prepare them, right?

Uh… no. She didn’t touch ’em (she used to love them when she was younger). But she did talk about them.

Of course, now she has to have her own little bowl of dried lentils to scoop and pour and play with (“wanna play lentils with me, mommy?”). But not eat (“can’t eat lentils. not boiled yet!”).

She is very careful playing with them. And I think it would be nice to get her more involved in the meal process. But I don’t know if she’s ready for too much yet. Her coordination and following orders instructions skills aren’t quite there yet.

I do look forward to the day she and I can get up early on a weekend and make breakfast for my wife.

On a somewhat related dinner note – after spending a bunch of time last month with my in-laws, my daughter now has to “bang glasses” with us whenever we have wine (don’t worry, she just has a plastic cup filled with water). She’s getting better at it…

4 Responses to Lentils

  1. Rob says:

    My nephew, Gunslinger*, does that. Only he calls it ‘Cheers-ing’.

    As in sippy cup raised, “Cheers-ing Unka Rob?”

    I raise my glass in confirmation, and we touch cups. Gunslinger takes a sip and says, sippy cup raised, “Cheers-ing Unka Rob?”

    You can see where it goes from there.

  2. Terry says:

    Hey Kaz…I’m a daddytypes reader/commentor and MetroDad reader. MD mentioned your place, so I thought I would check it out.
    Now that my Elder is 3yo, I have been trying to get him to help in the kitchen. Not only does it stop his whining of “Daddy play, Daddy play” but it’s getting him into howa kitchen works and that Mommy and Daddy don’t have magical powers that makes the food appear.
    Just this morning, we were making grits (I’m in Tennessee, so it’s okay) and I had him pour some of the grits in the water. It’s like he owns the grits now… Then, for the impromptu math lesson we went to the microwave for him to start the kitchen timer… “okay, press 4, 3, 0 and start”
    I think what’ll happen is that by the time he’s about 10yo he’ll have enough kitchen experience to totally utilize My First Chemistry Set to the fullest potential.

    [Kaz: Welcome, Terry! Thanks for stopping by! Well, at the very least, he’ll be able to utilize My First Microwave! :)]

  3. CroutonBoy says:

    Wouldn’t the ideal situation be one in which she gets up and makes breakfast for you?
    Then again, lentil soup isn’t the best breakfast food.

    [Kaz: Hey, Crouton Boy, thanks for stopping by! It would be a tradeoff I would need to conisder. Lentin soup for breakfast might be worth sleeping in and staying in bed!]

  4. Henitsirk says:

    My 2 year old daughter must “kink” glasses in order to finally finish her milk. She and her 4 year old brother love to help cook: they helped with pretty much every step of the last lasagne I made. Note: I was feeling very patient that day, and allowed a LOT of time for the cooking process.
    I too am waiting for the day when the kids cook us breakfast. Or let us sleep in, I’m not picky.
    PS: Say thanks to MetroDad!

    [Kaz: Thanks for stopping by! I owe MD a drink (or two) next time I’m down in the city! I think a lot may also depend on the mood of the child. There are times my daughter works hard to be careful and listen, and there are other times she’s just reckless and does whatever she wants.]

Leave a Reply

