Fishing in the bathtub

We’ve been lucky. Our daughter’s a little over two now, and it hasn’t happened once. Until last night.

Picking my daughter up out of the bathtub, I notice something strange, something dark near the drain.

“Uh oh,” I said. Ms. Kaz looked at me, “What’s wrong?”

“Uhm.. I think someone had an accident in the tub…”

“Oh…”

We stared at each other for a while. Finally, I asked, “What do we do?”

“I don’t know.”

It is my wife’s role in bathtime to dry and dress our daughter while I clean up the bath toys. Thus, it fell to me to take care of matters. I finally settled on taking the paper cups (with dinosaurs on them!) we use for guests and going on a fishing expedition.

Man, those suckers are hard to catch!

Finally, about 5 minutes and 3 paper cups later, I manage to catch them all. There wasn’t much skill or grace in my technique. I don’t think you’ll be seeing me on ESPN2 any saturday morning anytime soon.

If anyone else has any techniques that work better, I’d like to hear them. Of course, I hope I never have to use them.

[Kaz: to be fair, Ms. Kaz did offer to swap roles immediately after the discovery]
[Kaz: another update – I thought, thanks to Caddyshack, that these things floated??]

Leave a Reply

