Why do the gods hate me so?

Ugh. Last night, the gods teamed up to give me a bit of a beatdown.

It all started around 11:30, when I was asleep and the phone rang. When the phone rings in the middle of the night, you always assume the worst – someone has died.

Worse – it was work calling. After chatting with them while half asleep (I even had a support guy this morning tell me the night guys said I sounded asleep) for a half an hour and resolving to resolve the issue in the morning, I tried to go back to sleep.

This whole process took an hour or so. Part of the reason it took so long is that my daughter work up crying twice during this time. Once I feel asleep, my daughter cried a couple more times during the night, waking Ms. Kaz and I up.

I remember lying there after the second time my daughter cried thinking about how bad news always comes in threes.

Well, at 5am or so, the cats started up. They scratched at my daughter’s door, stepping on the volume control for the phone a couple times, causing it to ring, and mewed.

I am sure this is payback for something. Right now, I am too tired to figure it out.

[Kaz: Okay, in retrospect, someone dying would have been worse. At the time, I was just thinking that I’d be on the phone a much shorter amount of time if it was someone dying]

Leave a Reply

