I’m the world’s worst dad…

Okay, I’m not really. Ms. Kaz reassures me I’m a great daddy. But I’ve got this problem these problems with self confidence and worry. The self-confidence issues are just here and there. The worry is in a lot more places.

So, I worry about being a good father. I want to be my daughter’s best friend. But at the same time I know I cannot always be. I know I have to guide her and teach her and be “the bad guy” sometimes. I know it is part of her learning, developing, growing, and, well, staying alive.

I worry that I’m not spending enough time with her, and yet I worry that I am spending too much time with her. I worry that I am spoiling her, yet I worry that I am not spoiling her enough.

I think basically what it comes down to is this – I have no idea what I am doing when it comes to being a father. I don’t know if I am doing it right or doing it wrong. I prefer to deal in absolutes. Fatherhood is anything but absolutes.

Before we go much further, I have to let you know that if you’re looking for advice on how to be a good father, you can stop reading right now. Well, at least, you won’t get it from me. But someone is trying a little harder doing a little more reasearch than me.

Kevin Klein (that’s Klein, not Kline) over at Dadbloggers is doing some reasearch on the topic and having not been able to figure much out himself is hoping someone else might know looking for additional tips and opinions. Seriously, though, I am looking forward to the end result. I think there are a lot of dads out there who need tips, tricks and advice. That’s one of the goals I have with this blog is to help facilitate dads sharing advice…

Or at the very least, having the mommies come over and tell us the answers.

Leave a Reply

