What we are reading: Dr. Seuss

Green Eggs and Ham One Fish Two Fish Not Getting Up

ABC Mr. Brown Can Moo Cat in the Hat

Lately, my daughter is into Dr. Seuss (quick fact: apparently, Dr. Seuss pronounced his name ‘soyce’).

This is cool with me. We had a few books, and my mother contributed a bunch more last time we visited. I have fun reading them, especially once I can get the cadence correct.

Some quickies after the jump…

One of the things I have been doing is reading Green Eggs and Ham (my daughter calls both the book and the Sam-I-Am character, “Sam Ham”) as if I were an actor hamming it up. I even throw in a slight British accent, as best as I can do one. She finds it funny, but after a while, she’ll say, “sit down, daddy!”. I’ve even got her shaking her fist and saying, “that Sam Ham, that Sam Ham”.

There are still some, such as One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, which have pages I still have trouble reading just right. The flow throws me off.

The ABC book is one we like to read and have our daughter complete the sentences.

I Am Not Going to Get Up Today is one she likes lately, as well. There’s one page which just doesn’t rhyme and interrupts the flow. The ending is a little anti-climatic, and just… well… weird. (Update: geez, how could I forget to mention this book has a marching band, which my daughter loves, because she is so into parades lately)

Mr. Brown Can Moo is always fun because we can get her to do the sounds at the end “summary page.”

The Cat in the Hat is one I just wish we could get all the way through.

There are others, but these are the ones we return to most often… for now.

3 Responses to What we are reading: Dr. Seuss

  1. zygote daddy says:

    The first book I ever “read” (actually, I think I just memorized all the pages) was Hop on Pop. A fun one to take literally…

  2. Sky Cosby says:

    I enjoyed finding your site tonight and hope you are enjoying Dr. Seuss. You should check out the government subsidized cartoons they hired Seuss to do back in the day. Interesting stuff!

    (Kaz: Thanks for stopping by! I’ll have to search around for them. If you know  of any good links for them, pass them along!)

  3. EB says:

    Marvin K. Mooney is fun and dramatic for young kids.

Leave a Reply

