It’s my party, and I’ll cry if I want to…

I don’t think I’ve ever seen it before. Not that I went to many children’s birthday parties before our daughter was born. But I’ve been to two 2nd birthday parties (both girls — does that make a difference?) where the birthday girl started to cry when everyone was singing.

Is it loud noise? My daughter always complains when things are, “too loud,” but she thinks it is amusing when people sing to her. (On a side note, she likes to sing the words as, “happy party to you!”)

Is it the attention? Maybe. My daughter is pretty outgoing compared to a lot of the two years olds I’ve met.

Is it that the children already dread getting older? I don’t think so. I tried to reassure the most recent birthday girl that she didn’t “look a day over one-and-a-half,” but it didn’t help.

The good thing is, they both seemed to get over it quickly once the singing was done and cake was to be had. Cake always stops me from crying, too.

One Response to It’s my party, and I’ll cry if I want to…

  1. MarniMELT says:

    I have a niece who cries whenever there is ‘slow’ music. Maybe “Happy Birthday to you” is a slow sad song for the average 2-year-old?

    (Kaz: once my daughter is older and starts going to school dances, then I’ll make sure she learns to have fits of crying when she hears slow songs. Maybe it’ll keep the boys away.)

Leave a Reply

