How to Protect Your Kids from The Media

there's heeeeereIt is not just the internet that is out to get your children. All media is out to get them. Okay, (half) joking aside. I do often feel ill prepared for when my daugher is older and can do a lot of things on her own. I know some things I will like, others I won’t. There’s no getting around that. For now, I just try not to think about it.

The Washington Post has a story, apparently running tomorrow, about how to prepare yourself and your kids for media onslaught. The article starts off talking about how parents can prepare their kids (or maybe themselves) for the fact that there will be things that makes them (the kids and the parents) uncomfortable – on the internet, on tv, in the movies.

It then veers, ever so slightly to talking about making your kids media literate, by teaching them to understand the media and how it is out to get them targets consumers.

The article seeks to reassure us that parents and kids are in this thing together, and that it is as bad as our parental minds may think it is. While it seems like it falls just short of satisfying, there’s still some good advice to be taken away from the article.

Me? I’m still in no hurry for my daughter to grow up.

One Response to How to Protect Your Kids from The Media

  1. Dan says:

    A relevent Calvin and Hobbes cartoon I came accross recently.

    (Kaz: Hey, Dan – for some reason, WordPress thought this was a spam comment. When I approved it, it stripped the link. Can you pass it along again? I’m a big fan of Calvin and Hobbes!)

Leave a Reply

