Ramblings

We headed up north this weekend, to my in-law’s “cabin” and took the kids to visit them.

My in-laws are great, taking the kids for some time so one or both of us (Ms. Kaz and me) could relax. At one point, both Ms. Kaz and I were outside, reading and saying how weird it is to just relax.

We seem to strive for time to relax, and time to ourselves, or, let’s face, just like most parents, some time without the kids.

Having taken two cars, since I had to work, Ms. Kaz and the kids got to spend a little extra time up there with her family. Of course, that meant that today, after dinner, I had to return back home to myself.

Before kids, when Ms. Kaz was away for a couple days, I’d sleep in, eat pizza, drink beer, rent James Bond movies. Now, with kids, this is really (as far as I can remember), my first night sans family (as short as it is).

Just what I’ve been waiting for.

Of course, I’ve just wasted it channel surfing, not really finding anything, snacking and reading magazines… checking my blog… wandering around aimlessly, not really sure what to do with myself and the time I’d be usually doing chores and trekking back up the stairs to tell my daughter she really needs to go to sleep now, and this is the last time I am coming up.

Instead, I am just bored.

I know there’s a decent chance when I come home from work tomorrow, my daughter will be crabby, and whining about something.

But I still miss them all.

(of course, I am still looking forward to sleeping in just a bit tomorrow)

One Response to Ramblings

  1. Alicia says:

    I can definately relate I love and live for my children but sometimes you just really need some time away!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

