Change of Scenery

“I need to talk to you…”

This is what my daughter’s Teacher said to me when I went to pick up my daughter from Big Girl School yesterday. “Uh oh, now what did she do?” I thought to myself.

“I have to close.”

Eep.

“I’ve been doing some consulting,” (we knew this), “and I was made an offer I just cannot turn down.”

“Okay,” I said, “uhm… when?”

“My license expires at the end of the month,” she told me, “so two weeks.”

Eep.

So, we’re looking for a new place to send my daughter. Ms. Kaz is working a couple days a week, and, for now, the woman who watched her when she was younger, and who now watches The Boy, can watch her while we look.

Of course, it may mean the end of being with her friend Timmy, whom she’s known since she was 8 months old. The same little boy who helped ease the transition between care providers last time, as we at least knew she’d know someone there.

And this place was highly recommended to us, so it wasn’t like we did a huge search last time. It has been over 3 years since we’ve really had to search and evaluate daycare. Or maybe preschool. Who knows where she’ll end up.

She seemed okay with it as I discussed it in front of her withe her teacher, then with Ms. Kaz. But, at some point, for some reason, she had a breakdown about not wanting to go to a new school. I mentioned earlier that she’ll need to find a new school for big kids, and she seemed okay with it. I guess it didn’t really sink in until later.

Here’s some of the comments we heard:

“I wanna just stay home with mommy all the time!”

“I’m going to become a teacher and go to the school and open it up!”

and my favorite:

“I don’t care! I’m going to go in to the school anyhow!”

So, if anyone has advice on (a) explaining the need to switch to my daughter, and (b) easing the transition to a school where she could potentially not know any of the kids, that would be great.

On the plus side, since my daughter wanted to invite only certain kids from School to her birthday party, and the school has a “rule” that all kids have to be invited (to spare hurt feelings, I support) or none at all… we no longer have this problem!

3 Responses to Change of Scenery

  1. We had a similar nightmare a couple of year back when our childminder suddenly lost her licence and was investigated! Utter horror and panic. The birthday party rules are a complete nightmare (thankfully they’re not quite so strict in dudelet’s’s current school)

  2. planet3rry says:

    well if she misses Timmy, she can just IM him after school.

    as for
    a) Tell her straight up, the place is closed. It’s like the movie is over… and a new movie/story is beginning

    b) Take her to strange/new places in the mean time. Get her schedule mixed up so that going to a new place with new people isn’t as much of a shock.

    I don’t envy you about searching…

  3. Overcloud says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Overcloud.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

