A trip to the Movie Store

When I go walking with my daughter, we often go to our local, independent “Movie Store,” as she calls it. It is only a few blocks away, and she likes looking at the kids movies. And we both like looking at the “treats” they sell there (this weekend’s haul – Swedish Fish).

We usually wind up looking at, and often renting, a Princess Movie. Lately, however, she’s been into Scooby-Doo (or Scooby-dooby-doo, as she calls him). Still, it surprised me (although pleasantly, I must say) when she chose a Scooby-Doo movie (“Pirates Ahoy!“) over a Princess Stories DVD.

“Really?” I asked.

“Uh-huh,” she replied, “Timmy likes Scooby-Doo, and I like everything Timmy likes.”

Later, at dinner, I tried to get the truth our of her, “So which do you like better? Scooby-Doo or Princesses?” At first, she replied as she usually does, “Scooby-Doo and Princesses!” Then, thinking about it, she confessed, “No, Princesses.”

Continuing the game, I threw out the age-old, fully not expecting her to get it, “Ginger or Mary-Ann?”

“Ginger and Mary-Ann!” she told me. “Oh, daddy,” Ms. Kaz said, “she doesn’t know who they are!”

“No, no, wait,” I said, “I think she might be onto something. I like that answer. Ginger and Mary-Ann.” Ms. Kaz rolled her eyes.

2 Responses to A trip to the Movie Store

  1. Darren says:

    Excellent answer. I’ll have to use that one.

  2. planet3rry says:

    Nice!

    Funny that you should mention Scooby Doo… there must be something in the air about that Dog. I heard The Elder laughing and walking into the room, he was watching Scooby Doo…

    “Look Daddy, Scooby Doo!”

    And we are talking old-school Scooby too, like the ones I used to watch after school. In fact, they found an episode that is splice for the intro to the show… WTF!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

