Conversations With…: Kids and technology

Man, kids seem to be learning and understanding earlier and earlier. It must have something to do with the fast pace of technological change. My parents thought it was fast when I was a kid, I’m sure, but it wasn’t like it is today.

My daughter, a few weeks ago, was watching some sort of video on the computer. I had to feed The Boy his bottle, so I told her, “just move the mouse over the movie you want and click,” and in the time I was getting the bottle ready, she must have watched 3 other video.

Last night, when getting her ready for bed, she told me, “I have one hundred friends!”

“Wow,” I said, “that’s a lot”

“Yeah.”

“Is that Friendster, or Facebook?” I asked. She thought for a bit, then told me, “Facebook.”

Maybe it is time to put a password on the ol’ Internet.

3 Responses to Conversations With…: Kids and technology

  1. Yeah, that sort of concerns me too. I try to stay on top of technology – I have a tech job, I own desktops, laptops, HDTVs. I build networks, websites, and databases. I have a PSP, a Zune, a 360, a PS2 and an HDMI Harman Kardon receiver. I carry a 60gb portable HD with me EVERYWHERE and I have a 500gb for bigger downloads.

    But I know in under 10 years, I’ll be asking Squeaker how to work a piece of technology.

    [Kaz: I hear ya - my dad worked in computers, and got our first Apple ][+ when they first came out, and always liked gizmos. A couple years ago, I couldn't teach him how to use his DVR...]

  2. Darren says:

    I’m about to add a password or some kind of control program too. Clare is starting to do searches of her own. She looks for Disney or pbskids or something like that, but I’m afraid of what could come up.

  3. planet3rry says:

    The Elder loves YouTube… thankfully his little aspergian mind is wrapped around thomas, trains, more trains, and trains that crash. I am pretty confident that he’ll be engrossed in trains for a while. I think he’d only do Facebook if there was a Train Application… please tell me there is no Train Application. Although… now that I think about it, I do need some more Mobs in Mob Wars…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

