Little Life Observations

Still busy – between working, being a dad, and feeling guilty about doing more of the former than the latter. There’s been a few things I’ve been meaning to touch on lately, though…

  • I just put together the fact that, in The Little Mermaid (Disney’s), Ariel states that she is 16, and later in the movie, which is presumably just a couple weeks later, she gets married.
  • My daughter watched The Little Mermaid II the other day, and, despite Prince Eric and Ariel being 12 years older, they don’t look a day older than the first movie. (16 + 12 = only 28, but still…)
  • We have gotten yet another lunch box for my daughter. This one combines the best of the first three, but we’re just trying out for the first time tomorrow, so I’ll have to hold off on a review. I think we have a winner with this one, though.
  • When I lived in the Buffalo area, I used to listen to CFNY 102.1 out of Toronto all the time. One show I found fascinating was Alan Cross’ Ongoing History of New Music. It was well researched and well done, and the topics were usually very interesting. Now that I am working crazy amounts of time, I’ve been listening to the archives while working, and really getting into it. If you like music, you should check it out.
  • We’ve got an invitation to a wedding in the US Virgin Islands in April. We’re deciding (a) if I’ll be able to get away from work to go, (b) we are not insane for considering doing this trip with an almost 4 year old and a 6 month old.
  • My daughter finally got to go to the playroom at IKEA. I didn’t realize the held you to a time limit, but we didn’t need that much time anyway. She seemed to have fun. The idea of The Ball Pit scares me, but she didn’t look too covered with little kid germs.
  • Oh, yeah, and I’ve got a birthday coming up…
4 Responses to Little Life Observations

  1. Darren says:

    Ariel was sixteen, but that was set hundreds of years ago…so she’d probably be dead by 50.

    Go to the Virgin Islands…it’s a long winter.

    And happy birthday coming up.

  2. Kids are carriers of numerous diseases, including gray hair. So a little romp in the ball room won’t make much of a diff.

    And welcome to the last year of your 30s. Use it wisely.

  3. Turning forty turned out to be the best thing that ever happened to me. Weird. And being 39 pretty good once I finally accepted that all the things I should have done in the previous nine years weren’t going to get done in the following twelve months.

    Virgin Isles – go for it! And hope you get exploitable cabin crew.

  4. Yo, I hear you on that work thing. It *is* the curse of the leisure class, as my uncle was fond of saying. Let me know how 40 goes…it’s coming to theater near me this summer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

