Cat’s in the Cradle

This post isn’t really about our stupid cats sleeping in the baby’s cradle… although they do. Stupid cats.

No, this post is more about the time I have spent “at work” (whether at the office or at home), and the increased amount of time I am very likely to be spending at work in the next 2+ months (you may have noticed the light posting lately).

This is the third major project I’ve worked on since I started my current job. The first project was the one I was hired on for. Ms. Kaz and I were newly married and had a brand-new (to us) house. But we had no kids. And there were many days Ms. Kaz, because of the nature of her job, worked nights anyhow. The 80 and 60 hour weeks weren’t really much of an issue.

The second major project, was still pre-kids. No issue again.

Even after our daughter was born, there were times when there were some late nights. But it was one kid, and we were comfortable taking care of her.

As those of you with more than one kid know, two kids is not just 2x the work. It is more like 10x the work. So, added to the stress of this major, high-profile project, is the stress of (a) being away from the kids, and (b) leaving Ms. Kaz alone with the two of them, and the work associated with two of them.

(a) I’ve resolved in my mind. In these kids’ lives, the next two months will be a blip. They may miss me, but it’ll be over before they know it. Then, we’ll just take ‘em to Disney or something to make them forget.

(b) is the issue I am having more difficulty coming to terms with. Maybe it is being raised Catholic which causes me to feel guilty, I don’t know. Ms. Kaz has reassured me that, having more experience alone with the two of them, she can handle the two of them. If it were me? I’d freak out having to take care of both of them. Maybe I am projecting my fear of being alone with two of them and trying to get them fed, bathed, and to bed without losing it.

Anyhow, I wanted to explain my absence lately. I’ll try to do better posting, but I am lucky if I find time to eat, pay bills, etc.

Thanks, everyone. And wish me luck on the next two months!

2 Responses to Cat’s in the Cradle

  1. Darren says:

    Good luck. I think you’re right that it’s harder on the parent to be away than it is for the kids.

  2. That must be so tough – I find it difficult going away for one night at the moment! But I agree with the previous commenter – kids deal with things and it’s one necessary blip. Hope it flies by and is tremendously successful. And that you enjoy yourself some and keep the Catholic guilt (I know it so well) under control.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

