Twas the night before Christmas…

So, before my daughter goes to bed on Christmas Eve, it was important that we left out cookies and milk (soy – it is all my mother-in-law has) for Santa, and a carrot for his reindeer.

But there was one other important thing – my daughter needed to let Santa know that he should bring an umbrella, in case it rains. So, Ms. Kaz decided that our daughter, just as her family did when she was a kid, should write a letter to Santa.

Now, I was not around when this letter was written, otherwise I would have warned Ms. Kaz to be careful when writing letters to Santa on Christmas Eve. Of course, after my daughter dictates the umbrella advice, we come to the “I want” portion of the letter.

My daughter asked Santa for a “Princess Camera and a very, very long, long, long Princess Dress.” Now, we had already bought my daughter the camera she asked for and pointed to in the catalog, and given it to her a few days before.

Needless to say, the next morning, an hour or so after opening the stocking presents from Santa, my daughter began with the, “I didn’t get a Princess Camera,” accompanied by the pouting and, eventually, tears.

That isn’t to say I am against writing a letter to Santa. I thought the advice about the rain was very cute, and everyone loved the “very, very long, long, long Princess Dress”… I just think we’ll have to try harder to make sure the Night Before Christmas Letter is not an “I want” letter.

3 Responses to Twas the night before Christmas…

  1. Darren says:

    You’ll have to explain to her that his bag was already packed.

    Have a great new year.

  2. Gruppie Girl says:

    That will make a great story to tell around the dinner table someday.

  3. L.A. Daddy says:

    Ouch. Yeah, you never want to back yourself in a corner. At that point, you have to throw out a “look over there!” and snatch the letter away before she can “want” anything else :)

    Happy new year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

