S-p-e-l-l-i-n-g

Our daughter already recognizes when we are spelling things. The good news is that she doesn’t really know what we are spelling. Or so I thought…

My daughter brought home a dreidel from school the other day, and convinced my wife to play with her. She doesn’t know how to really play. Heck, I don’t know how to really play. But, Ms. Kaz spun the dreidel, and immediately, my daughter declared, “You lose!”

The next time, she decided that mommy would win and daddy would lose – “You lose, daddy! You have to go in time out!”

After Ms. Kaz lost the next time, I made the comment, “I thought when mommy lost, she had to t-a-k-e o-f-f a piece of c-l-o-t-h-e-s.”

Ms. Kaz rolled her eyes, but my daughter immediately stood up and pointed at me and said, “You’re very naughty! You need to go in time out!”

I told Ms. Kaz that I didn’t know our daughter knew how to spell. I was immediately reminded that there is no talking in Time Out.

2 Responses to S-p-e-l-l-i-n-g

  1. AJ says:

    We tell our 3-year-old she’ll know what we’re saying when she learns to read. She is doing exactly that, but really because she wants to read to her brother when he’s born in a few months.

    [Kaz: That’s a great incentive, and very cute. Our daughter hasn’t had that desire. She always just wanted to hold him and sing a lullaby to him. Which is also very cute.]

  2. Darren says:

    We were never great with spelling things–mostly because I can’t spell very well. Now that Clare can figure many words out it’s over anyway.

    [Kaz: It is amazing how well i-c-e-c-r-e-a-m rolls off the tongue after you’ve spelled it 100 times.]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

