Giving Thanks

Hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving. Sorry for the late wishes. Especially sorry to our Canadian readers, to whom this greeting is especially late.

Our Thanksgiving was, well… a lot of driving. And the first time with two kids instead of one.

We weren’t sure how it was going to go. In the past, one of us sat in the back seat next to my daughter. This allowed us to interact with her – playing, reading, singing. This time, with both kids in the back seat and both of us up front, we weren’t sure how either kid would react and how we would deal with it if they needed attention. I set up the third row seat, just in case. It was piled up with stuff, but it could be moved.

Oh yeah, the stuff – two kids requires more stuff. And a baby requires more stuff than a 3-year-old. Fortunately, we had the car-top carrier from my last car in the garage.

We wound up not needing the third row. This time. Both kids did great. This time. The baby slept just about all of the trip. This time.

Ms. Kaz is still worried. That’s why I am researching Toyota Highlander Hybirds and Toyota Siennas (Ms. Kaz’s suggestion).

Yeah, I’ve got a Highlander Hybrid now, but the 2008 has a 2nd row center console which can be removed, creating a bit of a pass-through… sort of like a minivan. The third row seating is a little more spacious, as well. And the Sienna? Well, it is a mini-van, and offers all a mini-van has to offer to a family of four.

The thought is — and if anyone has any knowledge or advice on carseats in third row seating, it is greatly appreciated — we could put one carseat in the second row, and on in the third, and we could move about, as needed, to offer attention.

I think Thanksgiving travel went well enough that we are going to see how Christmas goes with the car we have.

Oh, and I asked my daughter, at the dinner table, what she was thankful for. I had high hopes – a week or so before, we had been watching the Little Match Girl, and she was telling me things like, “We’re lucky to have a home,” and, “We’re luck to have a family.” I was hoping everyone could hear some of these gems.

Her response? “I’m thankful for my toys”.

Oh, well. Maybe next year. Now, she and I have to go back to browsing through toy catalogs.

4 Responses to Giving Thanks

  1. My family once had a Dodge Durango with a third row (not anymore). The front-facing car seat hung over the edge of the seat, but we did get it tight enough that it didn’t slip. There was a big overhang that didn’t inspire confidence, though. There wasn’t enough room for a rear-facing car seat. The angle was all wrong. It is almost impossible to get a child into a car seat in the third row when there is a car seat in the second row. If you can afford a minivan I think that is the way to go! Anyway, best of luck to you. You have a beautiful blog.

  2. whit says:

    Hey, at least she’s honest!

    We’ve always gone the two kids in the second row route and it’s been fine. Both boys tend to travel fairly well (I hope I didn’t just jinx myself).

  3. Here is my only concern with putting a child in the 2nd row and another in the 3rd – jealousy.

    I can hear the cries now… I want to be inthe 2nd row! Why does she always get the 3rd row?!

  4. Darren says:

    Happy late Thanksgiving to you too. I’ve been pretty lax on the blog reading lately.

    [Kaz: You and me both… I almost feel guilty!]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

