Bedroom Antics

Ms. Kaz asked me the same question every day for a week and a half, “Did those monitors arrive yet?”

My son is a grunter. And a snorter. And a shuffler. Especially when he sleeps.

Ms. Kaz has been having sleep difficulties beyond the ones that go with getting up in the middle of the night for feeding, and the grunting, snorting and shuffling that came after that middle of the night feeding often drove her to the daybed to try and sleep.

Of course, once the monitors arrived, we always found excuses – “Just one more day”, “Tomorrow would work better” – to keep him in our room.

Even our daughter began to ask, “Did he sleep in his own room last night?”

Two nights ago, Ms. Kaz asked again about moving him to his own room. Finally, I was ready to take the plunge. “I feel kind of guilty,” Ms. Kaz told me. “We’ve got to do it before he know the difference,” I reasoned, with myself as much as with her, “otherwise, he’ll know the difference.. and then we’ll have more difficulty.”

Besides, we needed to test the new monitors.

So, two night ago, the boy began sleeping in his own room. The next morning, Ms. Kaz awoke to tell me, “I kind of missed him, you know?”

And I told her I kind of did. As much as it keeps you awake, you grow used to the snorting and grunting and shuffling. At least you know he’s there. And still okay.

“Besides,” I told her, “you were only in the room for half the night, anyhow…”

So… two nights, and so far, so good.

*knock on wood*

ps – the Philips DECT monitors work great, but are a little freaky, in that you get used to hearing the static coming from a monitor, and these are so darned quiet until the baby makes a noise. Fortunately, we can set the sensitivity to pick up cries, but not grunts and shuffles and snorts. And when he does cry..? It is just like he’s in the room with us.

2 Responses to Bedroom Antics

  1. L.A. Daddy says:

    I new little bundle is a grunter, too. She’s waaaay louder than LA Toddler when she cries, too. But we’re starting to call our newest “Grunt.” She’s got it down pat. Now, I need to record her doing it because she’ll probably never believe me.

  2. We lasted about two weeks with dudelet. Or maybe less. I swear, it was like sleeping in the same room as a drunk rugby team sleeping off a communal bender.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

