Phil & Ted’s Sport … oh, and transitional issues

Our Phil & Ted’s sport stroller arrived yesterday.

The doubles kit, however, has not arrived yet. But more on that later.

The first thing I have to say about the Phil and Ted’s is this: the assembly instructions could use a little clarification. There are not a lot of steps to assembling this stroller. Often times, however, I had difficulty figuring out what they were asking me to do. Oh, they had pictures, but they were small. And they used a dark colored stroller in the example. They could have used a lighter colored stroller so the black pieces stand out more. Heck, they could have used orange — that’s what we bought — it would have made my life a lot easier.

I’m still not sure I have the hang of (a) folding or (b) converting from a baby stroller to a toddler stroller.

But, to be fair, I’ve only played with it for a couple hours.

And besides, this thing is a dream to push. After years of hard rubber tires on the Maclaren, these inflated tires of the Phil & Ted’s make this an awesomely smooth ride. My daughter seemed to love it, as well.

Ah, yes, my daughter’s ride in the Phil & Ted’s…Like I said, we did not get the doubles kit for the Phil & Ted’s in yet. Which meant we could not take the baby and my daughter in the same stroller at the same time. Foolishly, we decided to try taking the baby in the P&T’s, and have my daughter walk or ride in the Mac.

Worst case, we would just take my daughter in the P&T.

Well, my daughter, who’s been struggling a bit with Transitional Issues due to the new baby, insisted she and the baby both go in the new stroller at the same time. This was an impossibility until we got the doubles kit.

Ahh, Transitional Issues when the new baby comes… we all get warned, but how many of us believe it..? Well, add it to the list of things we refuse to believe until we experience it. You know, the list with: “Terrible twos? Wait until the threes!” and “Two kids is not just twice as hard as one – it is 10x as hard!”.

Things were relatively okay when the in-laws were here. Created a bit of a distraction. She always had someone to pay attention to her.

Lately, though, she’s had more, let’s call them, “episodes”.

I won’t go into details. I think many of you know what I am referring to. I am not convinced the cause is entirely jealousy. But that seems to be how it manifests itself. Ms. Kaz and I are both second children. Many times, especially in the last 10 months, we’ve heard the stories about our older siblings and how they said, “Take him back!” or “I don’t want her!” Many times, we simply nodded.

The strange thing is, she adores him. But still has these episodes.

I thought getting back into a routine of going to school might help.

I think that just wore her down more, and made her more tired, and made the episodes worse.

To be fair, yesterday and today, with some good sleep and good naps, she has been pretty good. And I am glad. Since these were the first two days Ms. Kaz was alone with the two of them.

I really think she is trying. Trying hard. I think this is just something kids go through.

Needless to say, these are the things which are overwhelming us and causing us to go to bed at8:30p.

And causing a lack of blog posting.

You’ve been warned Chris, Jason, Greg and LA Daddy

One Response to Phil & Ted’s Sport … oh, and transitional issues

  1. L.A. Daddy says:

    I know. I know.

    I keep hearing about it. We’re sort of expecting the worst.

    We’re kind of having little mini-episodes now… that I think is caused by her worrying that “something” is coming.

    I’ve already stocked up on booze…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

