Paul McCartney’s Balloons

It took me a few seconds to realize it was my daughter crying, not the baby.

“Daddy..? Where are you..?”

I stumbled down the hallway, telling my mother-in-law that it was the older one, not the baby, and that she can go back to sleep (yeah, she’s been spoiling us by getting up in the middle of the night to help).  I got into my daughter’s room, and she looked somewhat awake.

Daughter:  Where are the balloons, daddy?
Me: Hm? What balloons?
Daughter: The ones from, uhm… uhm.. uhm.. who’s that Beatle guy?
Me: Paul?
Daughter: Right, Paul ‘Cartney.
Me: What about Paul McCartney, sweetie?
Daughter: What words are on the balloons?
Me: Balloons? Paul McCartney’s balloons?
Daughter: Right.
Me: I dunno sweetie, go back to sleep.

In the morning, I was able to quiz her some more on her dream…

Me: Can you tell me more about the balloons, sweetie?
Daughter: Paul McCartney’s balloons.
Me: Right.
Daughter: I was chasing them. Why was I chasing them, daddy?
Me: I don’t know, sweetie, you were the one chasing them. Why?
Daughter: I wanted them to go far away! Up in the tree!

But where had these mysterious balloons come from?

Me: Were they in his house?
Daughter: Yeah! They were coming out of his window.
Me: Oh. What color were they?
Daughter: Brown, probly, or  black, probly.
Me: Oh, brown probably or black probably.
Daughter: Black, probly.

But what about those mysterious words?

Me: What words were on them?
Daughter: What words were on them?
Me: I dunno. I didn’t see them. What letters were on there?
Daughter: A, B, C, D, E, F, G!
Me: Oh, abcadefguh.
Daughter: No, I’m not abcadefguh!
Me: No, I meant — oh, nevermind.
Daughter: Why was I chasing them, daddy?

So, Paul, if you are out there, I apologize on behalf of my daughter for chasing your balloons away.

6 Responses to Paul McCartney’s Balloons

  1. Dan says:

    I’ve heard Heather is getting the balloons in the divorce anyway so he probably doesn’t care too much.

  2. whit says:

    I’m sure Sir McCartney can afford another round of balloons. Probly.

  3. Does Ms Arquette have any balloons?
    Nightmares must be truly terrifying and puzzling at that age.

  4. At least she remembers the dreammare; the wife will do the exact same thing – ask a series of nonsensical questions in her sleep – and then when I quiz her about it, I look like the idiot.

    Oh, wait…

  5. Terry says:

    Sounds more like a 60′s Flashback than a dream.

    My kid won’t tell me if he has dreams or not, but if does I’m sure they involve trains.

  6. [...] Kaz put an intriguing blog post on Paul McCartneyâ??s Balloons [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

