Danger!

Danger!I am not an overprotective parent… Okay, who am I kidding – we hover and worry over our daughter all the time. I think that is part of the reason for having another — we believe it will help us get over being helicopter parents.

Well, one thing I am pretty sure I would not have let my daughter do is go pick coal on the railroad tracks. And now, thanks to this poster (thanks boingboing), my fears are justified.

Fortunately, we are doing well enough that I don’t need to send my daughter to go pick coal off the tracks.

On a more serious note, Whit had a close call of his own with his child (involving neither trains, nor coal). Fortunately, everything worked out okay. Except he’s gonna live a much shorter life.

4 Responses to Danger!

  1. Aaah! I just lost a few years off of my life reading that. And now I won’t be able to sleep until about 3 a.m. Even when they’re sleeping peacefully, as 3B is, they still keep us up all night.

  2. Chris says:

    Damn. You mean I have to abandon the whole child coal picking venture?

  3. L.A. Daddy says:

    I don’t hover as much as I want to. But I do worry when she doesn’t listen. Like when I tell her to lie low when the truck is passing overhead as she plays on the freeway. She’s already got a big knot on her head from the passing Hummer.

  4. I’m a terrible hoverer – but now he’s started the nursery class at primary school, I just have to sit at work and bite my fingernails and worry about his imminent engagement with the four year old gangbangers his class is surely made up of…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

