Happy Father’s Day

“Wake up, sweetie.”

My daughter did not want to wake up. She’d groan and stretch and close her eyes again.

“We need to wish daddy a Happy Father’s Day…”

This did the trick. My daughter’s eyes snapped open, she got a big grin on her face and ran into our bedroom. “Happy Father’s Day, daddy!” she yelled as she ran to where I was sleeping. She climbed up and gave me a big hug.

That was the only present I needed.

* * *

But it wasn’t the only present I got.

“I needed to check with your sister about your present”, cleaning an area of the kitchen counter we don’t normally clean, and being told not to go into the basement because my present was down there. These were all hints. But I never guessed that I would get a single-brew coffee maker for Father’s Day.

You see, Ms. Kaz doesn’t tries not to drink coffee (much) at home. During the week, I am happy with my tea in the morning at home, then (free) coffee at work. But on the weekends, my body yearns for a cup of coffee.

We never feel it is worth setting up and grinding and making the coffee on the weekends, so we never did. I always said we should get one of these, but I never thought Ms. Kaz would indulge me. She doesn’t want me drinking too much coffee. I promised to continue drinking tea on weekdays at home.

… And you can buy packets to have this thing make hot chocolate, too!

* * *

Ms. Kaz was going to let me sleep in, but at a little after 7:30a, we had to wake my daughter up to get the day started.

We walked to the local bakery to buy some croissants for breakfast. We never have to convince my daughter to go to the bakery, because they have big M&M cookies there. It is the one thing she remembers. Once there, she peered through the glass in the display case to make sure they were getting her to BIG cookie, not the little one.

We sat outside at one of the tables, and my daughter picked gently at her coffee cake we forced her to eat before getting any cookie on the walk home. Yeah, I know – coffee cake is soooo much healthier than a cookie.

* * *

My daughter got her hair cut yesterday, as well. After the hair cut, she got to pick out a lollipop from the jar. She likes to get her hair cut because of lollipops. It is the one thing she remembers.

She also got to pick out one for mommy and one for daddy. I got one of those lollipops with the loop for a handle. I remember these from when I was a kid. I didn’t know they still made them.

Ms. Kaz didn’t want her lollipop. She doesn’t like them. This stunned my daughter. “Why you don’t like lollipops?” she asked. “I don’t know. I used to like them when I was a kid, but now I don’t,” Ms. Kaz explained. My daughter looked thoughtful for a second, then answered, “But they are so sweet!”

* * *

I finished spray painting my daughter’s plastic, $4-at-a-neighbor’s-tag-sale picnic table yesterday, as well. It looks a million times better. But that’s for another post…

It was humid, and I was sweating. Good thing we filled up the plastic kiddie pool in the morning. We woke our daughter up from her nap. And just like the mention of Father’s Day this morning, the mention of swimming perked her right up.

She and I spent some time cooling off in the kiddie pool. It was awesome.

* * *

We ended the day with baked ziti and garlic bread, and ice cream cake for dessert.

I think my daughter likes Father’s Day as much as I do.

* * *

Happy belated Father’s Day to all the other dads out there. Hope you had as much fun as we did.

 

2 Responses to Happy Father’s Day

  1. whit says:

    Sounds like a good day!

  2. L.A. Daddy says:

    Now that LA Mommy is prego, I’m the only one who makes the coffee on the weekends, too.
    Glad you had a great day! Sounds like fun. LA Toddler seemed to get in to the day, too. She kept wishing me a happy Father’s Day. And LA Mommy. And herself.
    She kept doing it on Monday, too. Really got caught up this time around. We’ll probably never get that again…

    [Kaz: Yeah, my daughter said it Monday morning, as well. I told her, "No, it isn't father's day anymore. It is back to being daughter day every day for a while...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

