I never thought these videos were true, until the following happened to me…

Okay, we’ve seen those videos of little kids getting nailed in the face with a ball. “How can that possibly happen?” we all think. I mean, first of all, the odds of the kid and the ball being in the same place at the same time. Second of all, what kind of parent hits their kid in the face with a ball.

Well… it was an accident!

Like little boys, my neighbor and I were showing off our soccer skills, which consist mostly of kicking the ball up and hoping we can get another body part on it.

Well, I kicked the ball up a couple times, you know, like playing hacky-sack with a soccer ball, and it started to drift away from. This is the point you kick it over to another person. So I reach out with my leg to knock it, mid-air, over to my neighbor.

As if in slow motion, I watch the ball go as my daughter enters the picture. Smack. Right in the face.

Now, this was a very very soft and very very deflated ball. I honest don’t think it hurt her as much as startled her. And she was extremely tired, having skipped yet another nap. So, needless to say, she started bawling.

And I felt like a terrible father.

Because I didn’t have the video camera rolling.

One Response to I never thought these videos were true, until the following happened to me…

  1. Dan says:

    You could have made a fortune from America’s funniest videos.
    there’s nothing else for it, you’ll have to do it again.

    [Kaz: Well, actually, because of my employment, I wouldn't be eligible for AFV, anyhow... probably for the best, anyhow!]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

