Glass Baby Bottles

So, we’ve resigned ourselves to the fact that we’ve failed our current daughter*. We’ve let her watch some TV. We’ve let her eat some occasional non-organic foods. And, much to my mother-in-law’s chagrin, we’ve let her eat jelly beans. But worst of all, we let her drink out of plastic baby bottles.

We’ll continue to raise her, so she can live out whatever miserable life she can muster. But we’ve decided to try harder with the next one. That being said, we’re looking to possibly move to glass baby bottles. If we can find them. Apparently, they are becoming more difficult to find.

Sure, some say the dangers of plastic baby bottles are overblown, but why take the chance? We don’t want to break another child!

And when they are both grown, and our older daughter asks why her little sibling is so much smarter and stronger and healthier than her…?

We’ve decided that we’ll hug her and tell her, “You’re a… nice girl…”

* Okay, okay, we don’t really believe we’ve failed our daughter. But we are always looking for ways to do things better, so I am hoping to chronicle our decisions, and (probably more-so) ask for advice. So… if anyone has recommendations or can share experiences with glass bottles, please let us know!

11 Responses to Glass Baby Bottles

  1. planet3rry says:

    Why not just go straight to a glass? Skip the whole bottle stage. If the nipple of the bottle is not glass, then what material is acceptable? Could you use a plastic bottle with some sort of all natural liner?

    Unfortunately, I can only think of sheep intestines as a lightweight liner.

    We’d probably have gone glass instead of plastic. We are in the process of going from Rubbermaid to Pyrex in our food storage department in our home.

  2. BookGirl says:

    You guys are such lousy parents! Jelly beans?? The horror…

    After using the Born Free bottles a few times, I’d recommend them. I don’t have experience with any other bottles, so I can’t compare, but I believe these have a design similar to Dr. Brown bottles as in they supposedly prevent gas and colic. Baby E hasn’t had any trouble with them so far.

    My husband is going to start giving him a bottle of pumped milk in the evenings and I’m planning on writing a post over at Citizen Baby about how we like them once we have more experience. Thanks for the shout out the other day, by the way…

  3. planet3rry says:

    Another thing we found out with our second kid is that the bottles that worked well for the 1st (Dr. Brown) did not work as well for the 2nd… not sure if that applies to everyone but it did for us…

  4. Ivory says:

    As parents we stress so much about things that are probably not an issue – I’ve always thought the idea of glass bottles is a bit nuts because my daughter has a habit of flinging her bottle across the room when she’s done with it. I’ll take the potential harm of a few petrochemicals anyday over the possibility that her floor could become covered with glass shards. Just a thought.

  5. I don’t usually spend time to write a comment, but it is not easy to find good information on this topic today. You did a wonderful job in this blog post and I may just go read your other blog posts now. Keep up the good work!

  6. Chadwick says:

    you are in point of fact a excellent webmaster.
    The web site loading pace is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a excellent process on this subject!

  7. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am actually happy
    to read all at one place.

  8. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  9. My partner and I stumbled over here different website and thought
    I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i
    am following you. Look forward to finding out about your
    web page for a second time.

  10. This information is worth everyone’s attention. When can I find out more?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

