Kids being Grown Ups

If you’re not a regular reader of Boingboing (and if you aren’t, why not?), you might have missed the link to a story in the upcoming New Yorker, part of which is sub-titled, “A Conversation at the Grown Up Table, as Imagined at the Kids’ Table“, and includes such gems as:

DAD: (laughing) There are actual monsters in the world, but when my kids ask I pretend like there aren’t.

MOM: I had a lot of wine, and now I’m crazy!
GRANDFATHER: Hey, do you guys know what God looks like?
ALL: Yes.
GRANDFATHER: Don’t tell the kids.

I always find it amusing when my daughter play-acts being a Grown Up (which I’ve documented several times in this blog). Well, except when it centers around going to work and I realize it is because she thinks I go to work for no good reason other than to make her miss me.

(via Boingboing.net)

One Response to Kids being Grown Ups

  1. Ah – emotional blackmail. I’ve tried the “Do you like living in our house? Well if I didn’t go to work…” Fine on day 1.
    But on day 2 when I tried to head out to work, he’d evidently given it some thought – “Can’t we move to a different house?”
    Day 3 he came up with “But I don’t like television” (what a BIG FAT LIE!).

    And today, he just seemed happy to see the back of me :(

    [Kaz: My daughter usually seems to understand when I tell her I have to go to work so we can go to DisneyWorld again.]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

