Conversations with…: Maybe we feed her too much pizza and pasta?

I don’t want to get too into it, but there is a part in the book, Bad Kitty, where they feed the cat “buffalo burritos”. My daughter and I were talking about this in the car the other day, and had the following conversation:

Daughter: We don’t eat buffalo?
Me: Nope.
Daughter: We don’t eat pigs?
Me: Nope.
Daughter: Or cows?
Me: Nope.
Daughter: Or chickens?
Me: Nope. We don’t eat fish, either.
Daughter: … or frogs?
Me: No, we don’t eat frogs. Do you know why?
Daughter: …
Me: Because we’re…?
Daughter: Italian!
Me: You crack me up, little girl. We’re vegetarian.

I was telling Ms. Kaz this conversation at home, shortly after my daughter and I got back. I got to the punchline, and thought I’d see if I could get my daughter to say it again:

Me: What are we…?
Daughter: …
Me: We’re…?
Daughter: Vegetalians!

I think we feed her too much pizza and pasta.

sally’s pizza

Or maybe it is because every time we read her the Angelina Ballerina book, she makes us sing Angelina by Louis Prima (you know how it is – do it once, you gotta do it every time).

And for good measure, here’s an awesome shot of a pizza from Sally’s (which my daughter still tells me is her favorite pizza), courtesy of the blog, What About Plastic Animals, which I actually found using a google image search, and I hope they don’t mind me borrowing.

5 Responses to Conversations with…: Maybe we feed her too much pizza and pasta?

  1. KeenEye says:

    I’m stealing the description of being “Vegetalians”! Too funny.

  2. whit says:

    That pizza looks freaking good.

    I’m a month in to this no meat deal, well except fish- Kurt Cobain said it was okay, and I’m starting to find myself passing pepperoni places that aren’t even on my way home.

    I must stand strong.

    [Kaz: Dude, Sally’s pizza is freaking good. Next time you find yourself in Connecticut, let me know – I’ll take you for some.]

  3. me loves some nice chicken in hot sauce. But in reality, I do try to cut down my meat as much as possible. I am trying to eat more fish and less animals that make sounds.

    My mom is an on again-off again Vegan, sometimes she has eggs and cheese… but not often and it’s most soy anyway…

    you could retire on the story on your little girl… they are way too funny.

  4. Chris says:

    Italian. That’s awesome.

  5. BookGirl says:

    Vegetalian… That’s great! I’ll have to remember that when we start having these conversations with our kid.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

