The Father Life

The first issue of The Father Life on-line magazine is now available here.

I have to admit, when they first sent me an email, prior to the first issue, I was a little skeptical. There are a lot of fathering sites popping up, and I wasn’t sure what separated these guys from the rest, aside from better graphic designers.

The first issue of their magazine, featuring an interview with international pop star and father, Mangi, a review of Spike Lee’s Inside Man, a whole bunch of Super Bowl inspired stuff, a fashion spread, and dad-gadgets (dadgets? maybe I can coin that term…).

The magazine bills itself as geared toward “guys in their late 20’s, 30’s and early 40’s, with young kids, families and careers. Guys who are still active in our interests in everything from sports and cars to music and fashion, but equally as passionate about our families and our kids.”

The first issue comes off a little too … hipster? for me. I think they are going to have to work hard to strike a balance between the interests of dads in their late 20’s with those in their early 40’s. I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt.

One feaure I did like was the Rambling Thoughts section, which this quarter features The Art of Fatherhood by Chad Kyler. He gives us his take on the modern father, and how his (our) role is different than that of our fathers. Although his experience is geared toward a son in his early teens, I appreciated the thoughts and advice as I try to deal with a 2 1/2 year old who is starting to assert her independence already…

Unfortunately, although they’d like to be a bi-weekly publication eventually, issues are only scheduled to be quarterly for now. That means I will have to wait until March to see their progress.

But go check it out, see what you think, and feel free to let me know your thoughts here (or, more importantly, pass them on to the “publishers”).

4 Responses to The Father Life

  1. “…the interests of dads in their late 20’s with those in their early 40’s…”

    *SIGH*

    I am WAY too close the the second group than I am to the first, but I will check it out.

    [Kaz: I'm right there with ya, brother!]

  2. If I can’t get it in my google reader, I don’t have time for it.

  3. I checked it out and agree about being in the latter age group and a tad too hipster for me – but it was a good, quick read. Hopefully they can keep it up.

    I think you should copyright “dadget” before someone else does.

    [Kaz: Like I said - first issue. Maybe they haven't found enough of us "un-hip" dads, yet...]

  4. I’m proud to be the new fashion contributor for http://www.TheFatherLife.com. Please check out my new blog and ask a question. Thank you.

    My Best,

    Jeff Collins
    Professional Haberdasher
    http://www.MyHaberdasher.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

