Conversations with…: Getting Dressed

I never knew a kid could not want to get dressed so badly…

Me: Okay, time to get dressed.
Daughter: I don’t wanna get dressed. I wanna play.
Me: We can either get dressed or sit quietly and stare at the walls.
Daughter: … stare at walls.
Me: Okay.
Daughter: …
Me: …
Daughter: …
Me: …
Daughter: What are we doin?
Me: Staring at the walls.
Daughter …
Me: …
Daughter: We’re not doing anything!
Me: We’re staring at the walls … Tell you what – we can get dressed and then we can play. How’s that option?
Daughter: Not good. Let’s stare at walls.
Me: Okay…

I think we stared at the walls another 3 or 4 minutes until I couldn’t stand it anymore. I think she was prepared to wait me out, though.

2 Responses to Conversations with…: Getting Dressed

  1. Kaz, I think you are going to have a hard road to hoe when The Daughter hits puberty.
    [Kaz: When she's a teenager, I'll just tell her to behave, or I'll blog about it!]

  2. EB says:

    So existential! Reminds me of Waiting for Godot.

    And Kaz, you want to watch that threat. If you blog about her when she’s a teen, she’s likely to blog right back about you.

    [Kaz: Hmm... didn't think about that. I guess it is a good thing she'll always think I am such an awesome father ;)]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

