It ain’t easy…

Things change when you become a dad. And being a dad isn’t easy. I’m not old, but I became a father for the first time at an older age than a lot of men become dads. I don’t know if that makes it harder or not. But being a dad can feel difficult sometimes.

My back hurts more often. Maybe I am picking her up wrong?

I don’t get as much sleep as I used to. And I wake up (okay, am woken up) during the night more than I used to. Okay, some of the blame goes to the cats.

I didn’t used to drink coffee before I had kids. Now I feel I need a couple cups in the morning.

I feel worn out long before my daughter does. She has so much energy.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I love my daughter, and she melts my heart with every hug and every, “I love you, daddy!” But sometimes, these other things are the dominant thoughts in my head.

Of course, when I read the Esquire article (via the blog, Truly Equal) about the young man, Bryan Anderson, who, thanks to the war in Iraq, lost three limbs, it makes me re-evaluate just how “difficult” parenting seems to be.

I don’t want to get into a debate about whether we should be in Iraq, or whether we should scale back or get out. Regardless of my thoughts on all those issues, it is interesting to see what a positive outlook on life this young man has.

Of course, being a father, one particular paragraph resonated with me more than any other:

“But I plan on wearing my prosthetics most all the time. And if I have those on, I’m not going to be able to carry my kids. I can’t really bend over because it’ll throw my balance off. So I’m not going to be able to pick up my kids. So you’re walking through the park and they don’t want to walk, they want to be carried. Sorry, I can’t do it. I’ve thought about that a lot. It’s going to be hard.”

Perhaps tonight, when my daughter says, “hold me, daddy!” instead of sighing, I’ll pick her up and I’ll carry her until she starts wriggling and saying, “let me down! let me down!”

3 Responses to It ain’t easy…

  1. truly.equal says:

    Thanks for the link to my blog, Truly Equal – I’m going to be a dad soon as well so I can definitely relate to your posting.

  2. L.A. Daddy says:

    Lift with your legs, my brother. Lift with your legs.

    I always force myself to smile when the arthritis kicks in. I rub my poor old football-knee and I know deep down that I’m happy I’ve got a knee there to rub.

    But, man, LA Toddler is getting heavier by the minute.

    Happy new year!

  3. Thanks for the touching post. We all should count our blessings….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

