Things that Scare Me/Freak Me Out

Today being Halloween, I was reading a list of the Scariest Things In The World on MSNBC.com, and it got me thinking about some of the random and not-so-random things that scare me, freak me out, or give me the heebie-jeebies:

  • Possession – I don’t know if it was being raised in a Roman Catholic household, or what, but movies or stories about demonic possession always freak me out the most. I still have trouble watching The Exorcist.
  • Heights – I am sure I am not alone in this. When we went up on the World Trade Center towers about, oh, 8 years ago or so, I couldn’t stand anywhere near the edge of that platform on the roof. In fact, just thinking about it makes my heart speed up. Of course, I am not sure if it is a fear of heights, or a fear of falling. Or maybe, as someone once said, “I’m not afraid of falling. I am afraid of landing”
  • Knowing something scary is about the happen – especially in movies. Usually, the actual scary part doesn’t bother me as much as when I know something is going to happen. I’m once of those people who will cover their eyes and peak out through the cracks between their fingers.
  • Sloths – I know it sounds weird, but sloths really, really creep me out. I mean, just look at them, with their slow movements, and their long arms, and, ugh, those claws on them. Even pictures of them freak me out.

I think I’d better stop here. I’m getting a little freaked out.

So far, about all that’s scary to my daughter is loud noises. Oh sure, she’ll tell me stuff is scary, like our Halloween pumpkins, or the dark, but I don’t think those things really scare her like loud noises do.

One Response to Things that Scare Me/Freak Me Out

  1. Terry says:

    I can handle scary movies, but what really irks me are simple gestures or actions that scary people do, such as in Salem’s Lot when the kid floats to the window and gently raps on the window or when they take normal objects, which is kinda like your possession, and make them scary. The doll in Poltergeist freaked me out enough, I don’t like porcelain dolls… or clown dolls with really really long arms…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

