A Trip to the Doctor’s

syringeMs. Kaz has a genetic blood clotting disorder. Don’t ask me what it is called. She has the 25 letter name of it memorized, I don’t. I just need to remind her to take her aspirin before long trips.

Because she has this disorder, our pediatrician recommended our daughter get tested for this. Which, of course, means having blood drawn.

Little did we know, it meant having blood drawn from both arms.

Greg, over at DaddyTypes, has a post up regarding a study that (duh) kids don’t like needles, and trips to the hospital that involve needles raise anxiety levels in kids.

Well, I gotta say, our 27 month old daughter was a brave little soldier, and did a great job. At least, according to my wife. I didn’t go. And I’m glad. I don’t like blood. When my daughter banged her chin and bit her tongue a couple weeks ago, I even struggled with that blood.

Of course, they did put some local anesthetic cream on her arm, which probably helped a bit. That, and probably playing “doctorin’” with us and giving and getting pretend shots.

Anyhow, she got through it just fine. Got some bandaids with cartoon characters and a couple toys as prizes for being so brave.

Now, we just have to take her for a second round of tests.

One Response to A Trip to the Doctor’s

  1. Terry says:

    The Scene: An Unnamed East Tennessee Children’s Hospital
    The Time: Late at Night
    The Situation: A trip to the emergency room for an unkown illness and blood is to be drawn.

    In the whole scheme of Kid’s Medicine the market has it’s own kiddie sized instruments… for drawing blood they had their own little itty bitty needle. As adults we know it’s the big mofos that hurt like the dickens. So, they need to draw blood of my 1.5yo (at the time) and as the technician is doing it he comments:
    “The vein is around here somewhere”
    *sigh*

    Well, I can’t remember exactly why we were in there in the first place, but we came out of it with a free case of the flu!

    It seems that when blood is on the scene that I jump into action and take control. My wife, not so much. It’s a personal thing and there is not much that you can do to change it.

    One of the funniest things that I experience with Kids and needles was at the pediatrician’s office. Down the Hall, you hear “Innoculations, Room 6 please”… then a short time passes… wait for it… “AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!” Of course, this was our room last week…

    I hope that your daughter is free and clear of the genetic disease.

    [Kaz: This could have been a blog post itself! I hope so, too. Fortunately, I believe that even if you have this condition, it is rare that there are any complications from it, but still...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

