She’s so funky, eh*

The other night, as I was tickling my daughter, she said, “tickling and playing games with dada is fun!”. Awww. Here’s a list of the games in our current rotation (in no particular order):

  • “Dada, wanna get your diaper changed?” – this game came about because we now store a “portable changing station” basket of supplies downstairs. Apparently, I am very “poopy” these days.
  • “Dada, wanna sleep with me?” – we lay on the couch with a pillow and blanket, I pretend to snore loudly, and she repeatedly wakes me up.
  • “Dada, wanna go under bed with me?” – we actually just go under the sheets on the bed. Even more fun when the cat joins us.
  • Playing Doctor – I’ve discussed this before, but lately it has been “Spiney” the plastic dinosaur who is getting sick a lot.
  • “Dada, wanna go in special girl tent with me?” – this is a game Ms. Kaz invented with my daughter. Despite the name, it wasn’t quite as exciting as I had hoped.
  • “Dada, wanna play tiger with me?” – I start with a goofy tiger (“roar roar roar”), then she asks, “be little tiger?” and I do the same in a “little” voice. Sometimes I get the, “wanna be big tiger?”
  • “Dada, wanna climb like monter with me?” – she puts her rain boots on her hands and we both walk around on all fours (actually on our feet, not on our knees, like crawling).

* This is what I think most Americans thought Peter Gabriel1 was singing in the song, “Games Without Frontiers.” He was actually singing, “Jeux sans frontier”, which is French.4
1 For those too young to know Peter Gabriel, he used to be in the band, Genesis2
2 For those too young to know Genesis, it was the band Phil Collins3 used to be in before he started singing crappy sappy Disney songs.
3 For those too young to remember Genesis, oh, just forget it.

4 I once knew a guy who thought the song, “Don’t Fear The Reaper” was actually, “Don’t Feel The Reefer”5
5 Of course, this is the same guy who drew sheep in Pictionary for the word, “veal” 6
6 The actual word on the card was, “veil”

3 Responses to She’s so funky, eh*

  1. aalize says:

    I always sang along, and really loudly too, to Bob Marley’s “Stir it up” song – “Serious!” Okay I was only 18, but still, it was really embarrasing when my American cousin who I thought was ultra cool, frowns and says – ” Whatcha singin’ fool?”

  2. I had a friend who thought AC/DC’s song ‘Back in Black’ was Black in Black.

    It’s especially funny because he owned the album (yes, album. It was a while ago).

  3. L.A. Daddy says:

    I always thought he was saying, “She’s so funky now…”

    And the wife ruined Jimi Hendrix because she keeps singing, “‘Excuse me, while I kiss this guy!”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

